Animal of The State, Fiction through Reality


On Saturday 17. December, 21:00, the educational and artistic research program Survival Kit performs its last act after three years of operation and presents the collective publishing project “Animal of The State, Fiction through Reality”, at Cafe Brown, Zaimi and Tositsa streets in Exarcheia. The book launch will be followed by a farewell party!

Survival Kit was an educational experiment between the Academy of Fine Arts Munich and the Athens School of Fine Arts with the participation of students from both institutions. Since 2013 it had manifested itself in an ongoing exchange, collaborations in different media and practises as well as by establishing the student-run project space Circuits and Currents and the web radio Circuits on Air in Exarchia, Athens.

The publication “Animal of The State, Fiction through Reality” reflects on the process of the Survival Kit’s three-year existence. Individually and collectively written texts by the participants intertwine with guest contributions by companions who have been involved in the experiment in various ways. This book considers itself to a lesser extent as documentation of this experiment’s history but rather as a medium of visualisation of the mutual learning process.

The educational and artistic research program Survival Kit was funded by the German Academic Exchange Service DAAD through the programme “Partnerships with Greek Institutions of Higher Education 2014 – 2016”.

Participants: Niki Analyti, Jane Theodora Auer, Nikos Arvanitis, Madeleine Bernstorff, Jonas Beutlhauser, Hannah Black, Martin Bogisch, Kyrill Constantinides Tank, Hans-Christian Dany, Johannes Fedisch, Xenia Fumbarev, Stephan Dillemuth, Phaidonas Gialis, Melanie Gilligan, Johanna Gonschorek, Kassiani Goulakou, Elena Haas, Tanja Hamester, Leo Heinik, Will Holder, Evi Kalogiropoulou, Byron Kalomamas, Ioli Kavakou, Michael Karmann, Anja Kirschner, Lefteris Krysalis, Mirena Liakoussi, Aimilia Liontou, Lorenz Mayr, Julian Momboisse, Karolin Meunier, Lisa Nase, Vasilis Noulas, Chloé Paré-Anastasiadou, Marios Pavlou, Mako Sangmongkhon, Kerstin Stakemeier, Athina Veloudou, Myrto Vratsanou, Emily Wardill, Frauke Zabel